22nd Calgary Underground Film Festival

April 17-27, 2025

12th CUFF.Docs Documentary Film Festival

November 20-24, 2024


United States, Finland, 2022: 95 minutes: Canadian Premiere
Archives 2022
In Cinema Globe Cinema
Thu, Apr 21 7:00 PM Buy


In-person Q&A following the screening with director Riley Stearns

Opening Night Film! The satirical, science-fiction thriller from CUFF alumnus Riley Stearns (2019 Secret Screening Selection THE ART OF SELF-DEFENSE) centres on a woman who opts for a cloning procedure after she receives a terminal diagnosis and is court-martialled to a dual to the death when she starts to recover.

The film stars Scottish actress Karen Gillan (JUMANJI: WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE) playing opposite herself in the roles of Sarah and Double Sarah, alongside Aaron Paul (BREAKING BAD). DUAL had its world premiere at Sundance 2022, where it was nominated for the Grand Jury Prize.

Opening Night pre-show in-cinema will also include Live DJ Adam Kamis and live visuals by VJ modal. Doors will open at 6pm.

OPENING NIGHT PARTY (included with your ticket)
The Derrick - 620 8 Ave SW, 9:00 PM - late
Join us across the street from Globe Cinema, for a party following the screening.
Drinks, food and DJing by Adam Kamis from CJSW 90.9 FM

5-film multipack credits are not valid for Opening Night Screening & Party

Sundance 2022
Florida Film Festival 2022

Riley Stearns is a Texas-born, Los Angeles–based writer and director. He has directed several short films that have played on the festival circuit, along with two features, FAULTS (2014) and the CUFF 2019 Selection THE ART OF SELF-DEFENSE.

press for Dual

"Director Riley Stearns follows up his 2019 sleeper hit THE ART OF SELF-DEFENSE with DUAL, an aloof, darkly funny sci-fi treat that takes place in a dystopian future."
- Thrillist
"[A] darkly amusing science fiction, set in a world where human cloning has become a mundane fact of life."
- The Atlantic


Narrative / Sci-Fi / Thriller / Suspense / Dark Comedy

95 minutes


Riley Stearns

Executive Producers
Tyler Gould
Tom Harberd
Matthew Helderman
Compton Ross
Luke Taylor

Riley Stearns
Nate Bolotin
Maxime Cottray
Lee Kim
Nick Spicer
Aram Tertzakian

Riley Stearns

Michael Ragen

Karen Gillan
Aaron Paul
Beulah Koale

Emma Ruth Rundle



WINNER: Jury Award: Honourable Mention